June 16, 2013

  • Lonely Moon

    So I promised on Xanga a few years ago that I would make a music video for a song that I wrote (not a fancy music video – just one of me singing and playing the piano).

    Seeing as I moved out of my parents’ house and now have no access to a piano (which makes me really sad), and seeing as Xanga’s demise is coming up on July 15, I thought I’d at least post the lyrics.

     

    Lonely Moon

    Oh lonely moon
    I see your face but
    there is no warmth in your company

    Why do you stare
    from way up there
    you know us human aren’t as cold as we seem to be

    I spend my nights
    just looking at you
    You’re looking back but you never see

    I keep my eyes up on the sky
    singing you words of love but never
    expecting reply

    And though my friends can laugh and ask me
    What is there to see up in the sky?
    It is cold and bare and empty
    And it will be there tomorrow night

    And though the light reveals your craters
    Though the light is not your own
    Only you will understand that
    We are most beautiful when we’re alone
    Under a lonely moon

    And all my friends can laugh and ask me
    What is there to see up in the sky?
    But it’s only when I’m looking at the stars
    That I understand all the reasons why

    We are most beautiful when we’re alone
    We are most beautiful when we’re alone

    Under a lonely moon
    Under a lonely moon
    Under a lonely moon

Comments (6)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *